Downpouring

Psalm 119:50 

(CEV) “When I am hurting,  I find comfort in your promise that leads to life.”

(NIV) “My comfort in my suffering is this: Your promise preserves my life.”

(NKJV) “This is my comfort in my affliction, for Your word has given me life.”

Isaiah 26: 3- 4 (CEV)

“The Lord gives perfect peace to those whose faith is firm. So always trust the Lord because he is forever our mighty rock.”

 

As rain falls softly on the ground

So my tears come without a sound,

As the clouds grow ever so darker

So my heart gets fainter and heavier.

 

As water seeps into unseen crevices

Silently, fear and pain creeps up

To chase whatever’s left of promises,

And give in to gloom that would not stop.

 

Flashes of lightning, peals of thunder

Break forth from angry, sodden skies!

Torrential rain – ceaseless and growing stronger

As does the free-flowing tears from my eyes.

 

Let them fall! Sweep like an angry whirlpool,

As I soak myself wet under the rain,

So I drown and drench in tears that fall

And afterwards find release from all this pain!

 

For as the rain cleanses and sweeps away

The filth, dust, soot, grime and dirt,

So does my silent tears carry away

My heart’s heaviness, aches and hurt.

 

Soon after the deluge comes sweet peace –

A stillness and calm that brings hope,

Then a glimmer of ray you cannot miss

Appears in the sky – a reason for hope!

 

Indeed, after the downpour, the heavy rains

Comes rest, silence, comfort and peace –

Rays of sunlight warming the plains

As the glorious rainbow brings welcome bliss!

 

In this, my tears and the rain tell a story

That no one save my heart can tell,

After the rain comes the splendor and glory

After the tears, my heart does grow well.

 

(West Jakarta, 7 January ’05)

abstract art cold dark
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com
rainbow above the green grass lawn
Photo by Frans Van Heerden on Pexels.com

Leave a comment