God’s Touch on 5 Areas of Our Lives (Part 1)

(Excerpts from Crosswalk Women online devotional I read years ago and my personal reflection on God’s words – another ‘refresher’ for me as I had written this journal entry years ago though I made some changes as they apply to my current faith-journey. I’m thankful that I keep a record of a few very relevant, timeless and practical devotionals.)

Been reading up on and re-reading some devotionals. I have to admit that every article is worth reading and most definitely worth sharing. Not only that, the topics are, believe it or not, uncannily so timely most of the time. That is, based on my own personal experience.

I know that it’s one of the many ways by which God ‘speaks’ to me and shows me His way, reminder, will and yup, even His admonition. I don’t and have never claimed to be  ‘mature’ and awesome in my faith-walk. I’m a work in progress and like everyone else in this journey of life, I ‘press on towards the goal…’ No matter how tough and painful the road ahead is, I know that I’m NOT alone and for every weakness, struggle, pain, sighs, frustrations, doubts and fears – my Father’s presence is WITH me…surrounds and envelopes me….and His promise, ‘I shall never leave you nor forsake you’ rings true every single day.

Even if the day turns out to be such a total failure or even if I go through one of those ‘bad hair days,’ in the midst of it all, I STILL KNOW He is there. And each time I feel like giving up myself, I hear Him telling me, whispering to me….

‘It’s never too late. You’re not without hope. Surrender it all to Me. Let Me carry all that for you. Hey, I’m just a prayer away. I’m NOT giving up on you. My strength is made perfect in weakness. I will carry you through. I LOVE YOU with an everlasting love.’

Now who wouldn’t be moved, comforted, encouraged, strengthened, enlightened, assured? Such is the marvelous love and transforming power that God freely gives us – each and every time we acknowledge what we are, admit what we have done and aspire and strive to  try again, in His grace, by His wisdom and strength.

‘And you will seek Me and find Me IF you SEARCH for me with ALL your heart.’

‘Come to me, hear and your soul shall live.’

His words never fail to do and give so many awesome and wonderful things for His children. Incredible comfort. Perfect peace. Limitless joy.

“And you will keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on You.’

Thank you once again, Lord!

I share this article not just to my women friends but also to the guys. They’re really very basic and yet, as I was reading it, it really made me stop and think. It’s like ‘the heart of the matter’ rests in all these 5 main points and areas. And each one is so closely linked to each other that lack of one directly affects all other areas. And this is verified in God’s words :

‘For out of the abundance of the heart, the mouth speaks.’ (This verse alone refers to two areas working together.)

‘The heart is deceitful above all things. Who can know it?’

So, friends, read on. I hope that this will leave us thinking, reflecting, praying, thanking and praising God for His infinite wisdom through His words and yes, His constant and unchanging perfect love. 🙂

Five Areas of a Woman’s Life That Need God’s Touch (Cindi McMenamin)

My heart was convicted as I read in Scripture of a woman who was so desperate for God’s healing in her life, she was willing to do anything to just touch Him (Mark 5:24-34).

I had to ask myself, how desperate am I for God’s touch on my life? There are times I might be desperate to feel and look younger, to be thinner, to have more in the way of peace and happiness. But how desperate am I to be whole and complete in every way?

After surveying nearly 100 women, I found several common areas in which women, myself included, need the touch of God to be whole and complete. I also found that Scripture addresses these areas of a woman’s life so that we can receive His healing touch. See if you can relate to needing God’s touch in these areas of your life, as well:

  1. Our Hearts – So They Can Be “Set On Things Above”

Women often stress over the temporal – bills that must be paid, whether or not a man will come into our lives, if we’ll be able to have a child, what someone is saying about us, how our body looks, and so on. At times we are more concerned about what the scales say than what God says. Our heart is closely attuned to our bank balance, rather than our life’s balance.

Yet God instructs us in Colossians 3:1-2:  “set your hearts on things above.”

If our priorities were in heaven, not on this earth, we would not only be happier and healthier, but less financially drained and emotionally spent. Matthew 6:19-21 tells us not to “store up treasures here on earth where moth and rust destroy and where thieves break in and steal. But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven ….For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”

It takes God’s touch to clear our hearts of what this world says is important and focus it on the things above.

*** My thoughts: **

“For where your treasure is (What I love, prioritize, give emphasis on, repeatedly/habitually do, giving importance more than anything else….), there your heart will be also.”

Spot on! Oh the shallowness! Add to this worrying about tomorrow and the future when the day has enough of its own troubles. Or fooling ourselves into believing that we have control over things and just about everything that happens in our lives.

I for one, am not exactly spotless on this area!

God’s word says: ‘God searches the heart.’     “I, the Lord, search the heart.’

The state of my heart as God sees it now? Honestly? Goodness, I’m not going to pretend that everything is in its right places and everything is rosy and sweet! With all humility, I acknowledge that. I NEED my Father’s touch on this area of my life. He knows it. I know it. So why should I go about denying and pretending?

This is why my heart sings praises and I can with all honesty, truly say ‘Thank you’ each time. He knows exactly what I am grateful for. And I won’t tire of saying ‘I’m thankful’ because I truly am. It’s by His grace that I survive each day. And at the end of the day, even in the midst of my heart’s turmoil, I can and will still thank Him and ask Him yet again to hold on to me and to give me another chance. 

And I continue to pray that You remind me daily to SET my heart and mind on things above before anything else that my priorities are according to how You want them, Lord.

‘Set your heart on things above…’ Through it all, Lord – you know I will keep trying.

 

 

Leave a Reply

